School History

St Michael’s school, originally St Joseph’s, celebrated its 100 years of Catholic Education with the Sisters of St Joseph in 2004. Father Bernie Melville is the longest serving Parish Priest having come to St Michael’s in May 1975 and we are blessed to have his wealth of wisdom, guidance and care. He celebrated his Golden Jubilee in 2003. 2010 saw a change in Principal at St Michael’s with the arrival of Mrs Karen Keys. In July 2008, the School celebrated its Golden Anniversary and the Parish and the School were presented with a beautiful wooden Cross naming the eleven Priests since Rev Father Dean James O’Neill in 1899 and the twenty six principals since Sister Julian RSJ in 1904.

Parish Priests Since 1899

  • 1899–1899 – Rev. Father Patrick Dwyer Ryan;
  • 1899–1912 Rev. Father Dean James O’Neill;
  • 1912–1928 Rev. Father John Gibbons (First Parish Priest St Michael’s Manilla);
  • 1926–1928 Rev. Father James Walsh;
  • 1928–1935 Rev. Father John Collender;
  • 1935–1938 Rev. Dean John Joseph English;
  • 1936–1938 Rev. Father L Cosgrove (Assistant Priest);
  • 1938–1944 Rev. Father L J O’Reilly;
  • 1944–1967 Monsignor Stephen O’Brien;
  • 1967–1975 Rt. Rev Monsignor Thomas Leahy;
  • 1975–2018 Rev. Father Bernie Melville
  • 2018–Present Rev. Father John Curran

St Michael’s School Principals since 1904

  • 1904 Sr Julian RSJ;
  • 1925–1928 Sr Laserian Boland RSJ;
  • 1935–1938 Sr Winifred Tuttle RSJ;
  • 1939–1939 Sr Emmanuel Forrest RSJ;
  • 1940–1942 Sr Francesca Leis RSJ;
  • 1943–1944 Sr Una Cosgrove;
  • 1946–1946 Sr Edwardine Beaumont RSJ;
  • 1947–1947 Sr Carthage Kelly RSJ;
  • 1948–1949 Sr Pius Carney RSJ;
  • 1950–1956 Sr Camillus Cullen RSJ;
  • 1957–1962 Sr Stephanie Maunsell RSJ;
  • 1963–1963 Sr Rose Durkin RSJ;
  • 1964–1969 Sr Philip Neri McPhillips RSJ;
  • 1970–1975 Sr Elaine (John Evangelist) Ridgewell RSJ;
  • 1976–1977 Sr Carmel Maher RSJ;
  • 1978–1978 Sr Anne Maree Rosenburg RSJ;
  • 1978–1978 Sr Joan Humphries RSJ;
  • 1979–1979 Sr Judith Ellis RSJ;
  • 1980–1981 Sr Kathleen McGettigan RSJ;
  • 1982–1985 Miss Lois Sutton;
  • 1986–1992 Mr Tony Gillies;
  • 1993–1995 Mr Noel Hurley;
  • 1996–1999 Mr Paul McDonald;
  • 2000–2000 Mrs Giovanna McDougall;
  • 2001–2005 Mr Stuart McKinnon;
  • 2006–2009 Mrs Geraldine Chapman;
  • 2010–Present Mrs Karen Keys.

Our Patron – St Michael the Archangel

Feast daySeptember 29th

The name Michael signifies “Who is like to God?” and was the war cry of the good angels in the battle fought in heaven against Satan and his followers. Holy Scripture describes St. Michael as “one of the chief princes,” and leader of the forces of heaven in their triumph over the powers of hell. He has been especially honored and invoked as patron and protector by the Church from the time of the Apostles. St. Michael is
the patron of grocers, mariners, paratroopers, police and sickness.